Massachusetts Zero Tolerance
Massachusetts, like other states has enacted a Zero Tolerance Law as a way of punishing those under the legal drinking age of 21 who drive with any amount of alcohol in their system. For any driver under the age of 21, this limit for an administrative penalty decreases all the way down to .02% or higher. With such a small amount of alcohol in their system, a person would hardly be intoxicated. The limit for prosecution for OUI is still .08% for those under 21.
To determine a driver’s blood alcohol content (BAC), they will request that the driver submits to a breath or blood test. While they may choose to refuse a chemical test, it’s important to understand there are serious penalties for violating this Implied Consent Law. If you are under the age of 21 and you refused a chemical test, your driver’s license will be suspended for 3 years for a first offense. You must participate in a youth alcohol education program or you’ll have to face another 180 days to one year driver’s license suspension.
Once your case makes it to criminal court, you can face an additional 210-day license suspension if you are convicted or plead.
Have a DUI/DWI/OUI related question? Stephen L. Jones is available 24-hours a day. Please call: (617) 851-7153