Overview of the OUI Penalties in Massachusetts
What Are The Penalties for DUI in Massachusetts?
On a first offense, there is a presumption that you will get the same disposition on your case after trial as if you plead. So you run no risk in 99.9 percent of the cases by fighting your first offense case.
On a second offense, there is mandatory in-patient program for people and a period of probation.
From second offenses through third offenses through fourth offenses, you'll be required when your license is restored to put an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
When you get to a third offense, there is a mandatory incarceration of 150 days.
A fourth offense, there is a mandatory incarceration of one year. When you think about whether to fight your first case, you need to think about what's going to happen if this ever happens again.